Special Interest Plate
A special interest vehicle means a motor vehicle which is more than 20 years of age and which has not been altered or modified from the original manufacturer's specifications except to assure normal running operation or to meet specific safety inspection requirements on original equipment, or both.
To qualify you must:
- Be a Kansas resident or a member of the military who is not a Kansas resident and is stationed at a Kansas military base or office.
- Vehicle must be owned and titled in Kansas in the name of the applicant
- The applicant for a Special Interest plate must also own or lease and have registered one or more vehicles which regular registration fees are paid.
- Everyone applying for a Special Interest plate must be issued a Collector’s Number by the Division of Vehicles. The collector’s number is the number used for the registration number on the Special Interest plate. If the collector has more than one special interest vehicle registered, the registration number on the Special Interest plate will be followed by a letter. Example: 1st vehicle’s registration number would be 1234, the 2nd vehicle’s registration number would be 1234 A, the 3rd vehicle would be 1234 B and so on.
Steps to obtain the plate:
- Complete and sign the Special Interest/Street Rod Affidavit, form number TR-145. The form is on the web at: http://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/tr145.pdf.
- If you are making application for a second, third, etc. Special Interest plate, bring your collector’s number and the registration receipt for all Special Interest plates currently issued to the collector.
- Proof of valid insurance must be present at the time of application.
Fee for Special Interest plate:
- A one-time $20 fee to defray the cost of issuing the original collector’s Special Interest plate.
- The registration fee for Special Interest registration is $26 per year, plus property taxes.
Related Kansas Statute(s):
KSA 8-194, 8-195 and 8-196