Medical / Vision Frequently Asked Questions

No, Kansas is not a “mandatory reporting” state at this time. This means that information is accepted and reviewed from courts, exam stations, law enforcement, family members, the medical community and concerned citizens. If Kansas were to become mandatory reporting, the medical and vision practitioners would submit the information directly to our office, on our existing forms. The review process would potentially change from the current 30 day window to 7-10 days for the completion of the review.

No, the Division of Vehicles makes every effort to assist drivers to obtain and maintain their driving privileges. Our office is ADA and statutorily compliant with all of our requests and requirements. We do not discriminate by age or impairment, however we are charged with the duty to determine a driver’s safety on the roadways in Kansas.

You may self-report at your local exam station or by contacting the Medical/Vision Unit of the Division of Vehicles by the following methods:
Phone: (785)368-8971
Fax: (785)296-5857
Mail: Kansas Division of Vehicles, PO Box 2188, Topeka, KS. 66601-2188, Attn: Medical/Vision Unit

You may voluntarily surrender your license and make application for a Kansas identification card at your Driver's License Exam Office. At that time, you will present your driver’s license to the Examiner along with your birth certificate or other legal identification and payment of the proper fees.

Once a driver’s license is voluntarily surrendered, you are not eligible to reapply for 90 days from the date of surrender. After that period, if you are eligible to make application for driving privileges, please contact the Medical/Vision Unit for the appropriate forms.

This office accepts “Letters of Concern” from courts, exam stations, law enforcement, family members, the medical community and concerned citizens. Currently only law enforcement has a specific form on which to report known as an “Officer Referral” and that information can be made public as it is related to a traffic stop or accident. “Letters of Concern” from all other sources are kept confidential.

A “Letter of Concern” must specifically state an issue regarding the driver’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, include the driver’s name and date of birth or Kansas Driver’s License number and be signed by the person writing the letter. After receiving the “Letter of Concern”, this office takes appropriate action. Our office sends the driver a letter and forms requiring the forms be submitted within 30 days. The medical and vision forms must be completed by a physician familiar with the driver’s history. If the driver has had an exam with the last 90 days, that information may be used on the forms and submitted to the Medical/Vision Unit.

You may want to encourage your parent to participate in a driving evaluation at a rehabilitation center which focuses on the skills necessary to safely operate a vehicle. Many facilities utilize computer based testing, if this is a concern inquire as to what percentage of the evaluation is computer based and choose a facility. The assessment will measure the driver’s reaction time, divided attention, motor skills and cognitive abilities.

A cover letter and forms have been mailed to you in response to the State of Kansas receiving a report from a traffic stop, accident, medical/rehab evaluation or “Letter of Concern”. The forms must be submitted to the Medical/Vision Unit within 30 days. The forms are to be completed by physicians familiar with your medical/vision history. If you have had an exam with the last 90 days, that information may be used on the forms and submitted. Once completed forms are received and reviewed, a letter will be issued to you in regards to any further action that may be required in order to continue your driving privileges.

Your doctor may request that you take and pass a drive test on your annual review.

If a “Letter of Concern” regarding your driving has been received and you have submitted your medical and vision forms, if you are cleared by both doctors, our office requires that you take a drive test at a full service Driver’s License Exam Station with an Examiner. If you pass on the first attempt your license continues. If not, you will have three (3) additional attempts to take and pass the drive test if it is deemed safe to continue testing. If you fail four (4) attempts you are revoked for six (6) months. If you choose to pursue driving privileges after that period, you will be required to have new medical and vision exams for clearance.

You have failed to submit the required medical and vision forms or they are incomplete.

The submitted medical and vision forms indicate you are no longer “a safe candidate to operate a motor vehicle”, you are not reliable in taking medication, your medical condition is not well controlled or a combination of all three.

You may become revoked for failure to take/pass a drive test or you have experienced a loss or alteration of consciousness within the last 6 months. In the event your driver’s license is revoked, you may contact the Medical/Vision Unit for further information.

You have the right to request an administrative hearing, in writing, within thirty (30) days of the date of revocation. If you desire such a hearing, you must address a letter of request to the Medical/Vision Unit. You will be notified by the Administrative Hearing Section of the date, time and place to appear for the hearing. At that time, you must present an acceptable medical and/or vision report which indicate that you are capable of safely operating a motor vehicle and should be granted driving privileges. The Hearing Officer will make a recommendation which will be forwarded to the Medical/Vision Unit. The case may be forwarded to the Kansas Medical Advisory Board for resolution or presented to the Director of Vehicles. The Kansas Medical Advisory Board (MAB) assists the Director of Vehicles and the Medical / Vision Unit in interpreting conflicting information and formulating action based upon the recommendation of specialists. The board also helps determine the driving eligibility of complicated cases.