Community College or Technical College Contribution Credit

Income and Privilege Taxpayers - Effective on and after July 1, 2022 and prior to January 1, 2027.

A tax credit shall be allowed for any taxpayer that makes a contribution to a community college or technical college located in Kansas for capital improvements, deferred maintenance or the purchase of technology or equipment.


Contributions received by the community college or technical college must be used in the manner as defined by statute.

Credit Amount

The credit is 60 percent of the total amount contributed during the taxable year by the taxpayer to a community college or a technical college located in Kansas.

If the credit allowed exceeds the tax liability for a taxpayer that contributes to a community college or a technical college, the remaining credit is not allowed to be carried over to the next year or refunded.

Limitation of Credit

For calendar year 2022, beginning July 1, 2022 through 2026, credits allowed may not exceed $5,000,000 for each tax year. In no event shall the total of credits allowed exceed $500,000 per community college or technical college, per tax year. In no event shall the total amount of credits allowed for taxpayers who contribute to any one such community college or technical college exceed $250,000 per tax year.

Procedures to Claim the Credit

You may download Schedule K-84 to claim the community college and technical college contribution tax credit. This schedule must be completed and submitted with the income or privilege tax return. You may also call the Department of Revenue voice mail system at 785-296-4937 to request Schedule K-84. You will be asked to give your name, address, phone number and form(s) you desire. Please allow two weeks for delivery of your forms.

Back to Tax Credits page.

Community College

A community college established under the provisions of the community college act.

Allen County Community College, Barton County Community College, Butler County Community College, Cloud County Community College, Coffeyville Community College and Area Technical School, Colby Community College, Cowley Community College, Dodge City Community College, Fort Scott Community College, Garden City Community College, Highland Community College, Hutchinson Community College, Independence Community College, Johnson County Community College, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Labette Community College, Neosho County Community College, Pratt Community College, Seward County Community College.


Deferred Maintenance

Maintenance, repair, reconstruction or rehabilitation of a building located at a technical college or a postsecondary educational institution which has been deferred, any utility systems relating to such building, any life-safety upgrades to such building and any improvements necessary to be made to such building in order to comply with the requirements of the American with disabilities act or other federal or state law.


Technical College

A technical college as designated pursuant to K.S.A. 72-32,458, 74-32,460, 74-32,461, 74-32,462, 74-32,464, 74-32,465 and the institute of technology at Washburn University, and amendments thereto.

Flint Hills Technical College, Manhattan Area Technical College, North Central Kansas Technical College, Northwest Kansas Technical College, Salina Area Technical College, Washburn Institute of Technology, and WSU Campus of Applied Sciences and Technology.


Back to Tax Credits page.