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Taxpayer Assistance Problem Resolution Officer: 

(785) 368-8222 

Forms Order Line: 
(785) 296-4937 
KDOR_forms@ks.gov 

Bob Clelland 
Office: (785) 296-2473 
E-mail: KDOR_taxpayer.advocate@ks.gov 

File Kansas Returns online at: 
WebFile: 

• Mobile Friendly - File on most electronic devices, including your smart phone 
• Secure Access - Protecting your information is our #1 priority 
• Fast Filings & Faster Refunds - Getting your money to you quicker kansas.gov/webfile 

Kansas Department of Revenue website: 
ksrevenue.org 
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INCOME TAX 
2017 SB 30 
NOTICE 17-02 

NO CHANGE 
TO INCOME TAX RATES 

FOR TAX YEAR 2020        

Married Filing Joint Tax Rate 
$0 - $30,000 

$30,001 – $60,000 

$60,001 and over 

3.10% 

5.25% 

5.70% 

$0 - $15,000 

$15,001 – $30,000 

$30,001 and over 

3.10% 

5.25% 

5.70% 
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Single, Head of Household, 
Married Filing Separate Tax Rate 

K.S.A.. 79-32,110. Tax imposed; classes of taxpayers; rates. (a) Resident Individuals. Except as 
otherwise provided by K.S.A. 79-3220(a), and amendments thereto, a tax is hereby imposed upon the 
Kansas taxable income of every resident individual, which tax shall be computed in accordance with the 
following tax schedules: 

(1) Married individuals filing joint returns. 
(F) For tax year 2018, and all tax years thereafter: 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
Not over $30,000 3.1% of Kansas taxable income 
Over $30,000 but not over $60,000 $930 plus 5.25% of excess over $30,000 
Over $60,000 $2,505 plus 5.7% of excess over $60,000 

(2) All other individuals: 
(F) For tax year 2018, and all tax years thereafter: 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
Not over $15,000 3.1% of Kansas taxable income 
Over $15,000 but not over $30,000 $465 plus 5.25% of excess over $15,000 
Over $30,000 $1,252.50 plus 5.7% of excess over $30,000 

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b): (1) For tax years 2016 and 2017, 
married individuals filing joint returns with taxable income of $12,500 or less, and all other individuals 
with taxable income of $5,000 or less, shall have a tax liability of zero; and (2) for tax year 2018, and 
all tax years thereafter, married individuals filing joint returns with taxable income of $5,000 or 
less, and all other individuals with taxable income of $2,500 or less, shall have a tax liability of 
zero. 

(f) No taxpayer shall be assessed penalties and interest arising from the underpayment of taxes due 
to changes to the rates in subsection (a) that became law on July 1, 2017, so long as such 
underpayment is rectified on or before April 17, 2018. 

History: L. 1967, ch. 497, § 3; L. 1969, ch. 454, § 1; L. 1970, ch. 394, § 1; L. 1977, ch. 344, § 3; L. 
1978, ch. 407, § 2; L. 1979, ch. 321, § 1; L. 1988, ch. 381, § 2; L. 1989, ch. 303, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 280, § 
55; L. 1997, ch. 41, § 13; L. 1998, ch. 130, § 19; L. 2008, ch. 182, § 22; L. 2012, ch. 135, § 10; L. 2013, 
ch. 135, § 1; L. 2015, ch. 99, § 25; L. 2015, ch. 102, § 3; L. 2017, ch. 84, § 4; July 1. 
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KANSAS EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE REMAINS 
AT  $2,250 FOR SELF AND EACH APPLICABLE 

PERSON CLAIMED AS A  DEPENDENT  
FOR TAX YEAR 2020 
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INCOME TAX 
2017 SB 30 
NOTICE 17-07 

CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE CREDIT RESTORED 

CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE TAX CREDIT AVAILABLE FOR INDIVIDUAL INCOME FILERS 
FOR TAX YEAR 2020 IS 25% OF THE FEDERAL CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE CREDIT 
UNDER 26 U.S.C. § 21 THAT IS ALLOWED AGAINST THE TAXPAYER’S FEDERAL INCOME 
TAX LIABILITY: 

• MUST BE RESIDENT OF KANSAS 
• CREDIT FOR CHILD AND DEPENDENT CARE EXPENSES ALLOWED AGAINST FEDERAL 

TAX LIABILITY 
• MUST INCLUDE COPY OF FEDERAL FORM 2441 

TAX YEAR 2020 (AND ALL TAX YEARS THEREAFTER) - 25.00% 
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K.S.A. 79-32,111c. Credit against tax for household and dependent care 
expenses; limitation. (a) There shall be allowed as a credit against the tax liability 
of a resident individual imposed under the Kansas income tax act an amount equal 
to 12.5% for tax year 2018; an amount equal to 18.75% for tax year 2019; and an 
amount equal to 25% for tax year 2020, and all tax years thereafter, of  the  
amount of the credit allowed against such taxpayer’s federal income tax liability 
pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 21 for the taxable year in which such credit was claimed 
against the taxpayer’s federal income tax liability. (b) The credit allowed by 
subsection (a) shall not exceed the amount of the tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-32,110, 
and amendments thereto, reduced by the sum of any other credits allowable 
pursuant to law. (c) No credit provided under this section shall be allowed to any 
individual who fails to provide a valid social security number issued by the social 
security administration, to such individual, the individual’s spouse and every 
dependent of the individual. 
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Itemized DeductionsINCOME TAX 
2017 SB 30 
NOTICE 17-02 

!! IMPORTANT !! 

Must Itemize on Federal Return 
Kansas Allowable Tax YearTo Itemize on Kansas Return 

Itemized Deductions 
2020 

Qualified Charitable Contributions 100% 
(as allowed in section 170 of the federal internal revenue code) 

Qualified Residence Interest 100% 
(as provided in section 163(h) of the federal internal revenue code) 

Taxes on Real and Personal Property 100% 
(as provided in section 164(a) of the federal internal revenue code. Federal limitation to the state 
and local taxes paid are in section 164(b)of the I.R.C.) 

Expenses for Medical Care 100% 
(as allowable as deductions in section 213 of the federal internal revenue code) 5 

K.S.A. 79-32,120. Kansas itemized deductions of an individual. (a) (1) If federal taxable income of an individual is determined by itemizing deductions from 
such individual's federal adjusted gross income, such individual may elect to deduct the Kansas itemized deduction in lieu of the Kansas standard deduction. 
(2) For the tax year commencing on January 1, 2013, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual means 70% of the total amount of deductions from 
federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue code with the 
modifications specified in this section. 
(3) For the tax year commencing on January 1, 2014, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual means 65% of the total amount of deductions from 
federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue code with the 
modifications specified in this section. 
(4) For the tax years commencing on and after January 1, 2015, and ending before January 1, 2018, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual means the 
following deductions from federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue 
code with the modifications specified in this section: (A) 100% of charitable contributions that qualify as charitable contributions allowable as deductions in 
section 170 of the federal internal revenue code; (B) 50% of the amount of qualified residence interest as provided in section 163(h) of the federal internal 
revenue code; and (C) 50% of the amount of taxes on real and personal property as provided in section 164(a) of the federal internal revenue code. 
(5) For the tax year commencing on and after January 1, 2018, and ending before January 1, 2019, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual means the 
following deductions from federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue 
code with the modifications specified in this section: (A) 100% of charitable contributions that qualify as charitable contributions allowable as deductions in 
section 170 of the federal internal revenue code; (B) 50% of expenses for medical care allowable as deductions in section 213 of the federal internal revenue 
code; (C) 50% of the amount of qualified residence interest as provided in section 163(h) of the federal internal revenue code; and (D) 50% of the amount of 
taxes on real and personal property as provided in section 164(a) of the federal internal revenue code. 
(6) For the tax year commencing on and after January 1, 2019, and ending before January 1, 2020, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual means the 
following deductions from federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue 
code with the modifications specified in this section: (A) 100% of charitable contributions that qualify as charitable contributions allowable as deductions in 
section 170 of the federal internal revenue code; (B) 75% of expenses for medical care allowable as deductions in section 213 of the federal internal revenue 
code; (C) 75% of the amount of qualified residence interest as provided in section 163(h) of the federal internal revenue code; and (D) 75% of the amount of 
taxes on real and personal property as provided in section 164(a) of the federal internal revenue code. 

(7) For the tax years commencing on and after January 1, 2020, the Kansas itemized deduction of an individual 
means the following deductions from federal adjusted gross income, other than federal deductions for personal 
exemptions, as provided in the federal internal revenue code with the modifications specified in this section: (A) 
100% of charitable contributions that qualify as charitable contributions allowable as deductions in section 170 
of the federal internal revenue code; (B) 100% of expenses for medical care allowable as deductions in section 
213 of the federal internal revenue code; (C) 100% of the amount of qualified residence interest as provided in 
section 163(h) of the federal internal revenue code; and (D) 100% of the amount of taxes on real and personal 
property as provided in section 164(a) of the federal internal revenue code. 
(b) The total amount of deductions from federal adjusted gross income shall be reduced by the total amount of income taxes imposed by or paid to this state 
or any other taxing jurisdiction to the extent that the same are deducted in determining the federal itemized deductions and by the amount of all 
depreciation deductions claimed for any real or tangible personal property upon which the deduction allowed by K.S.A. 79‐32,221, 79‐32,227,79‐32,232, 79‐
232,237, 79‐32,249, 79‐32,250, 79‐32,255, or 79‐32,256, and amendments thereto, is or has been claimed. 
History: L. 1967, ch. 497, § 13; L. 1968, ch. 233, § 4; L. 1970, ch. 395, § 2; L. 1976, ch. 433, § 4; L. 1976, ch. 434, § 5; L. 1977, ch. 344, § 2; L. 1978, ch. 405, § 5; L. 
1979, ch. 321, § 3; L. 1982, ch. 410, § 1; L. 1983, ch. 327, § 1; L. 1988, ch. 381, § 6; L. 1989, ch. 303, § 3; L. 1992, ch. 280, § 57; L. 2006, ch. 209, § 29; L. 2007, ch. 
113, § 22; L. 2007, ch. 195, § 56; L. 2013, ch. 135, § 2; L. 2015, ch. 99, § 26; L. 2017, ch. 84, § 6; July 1. 
Source or Prior Law: 
79‐3206. 
Revisor's Note: 
Section was also amended by L. 2007, ch. 73, § 9, but that version was repealed by L. 2007, ch. 195, § 59. 
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COMPENSATING USE TAX 
(K.S.A. 79-3703) 

 The tax is on goods State and Local Use Tax 
Reported on the Kansas K-40 

$1,005,674 $1,027,829 
$969,807 

$1,060,179 
$1,029,435 $1,028,905 

$1,297,175 

$692,083 

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 

as of 7/2/2020 

purchased by Kansans 
$1,400,000 (individuals and 

businesses) from outside 
$1,200,000 Kansas and used, stored, or 

consumed in Kansas which 
$1,000,000 no sales tax was paid or the 

sales tax paid was less than 
$800,000 

the Kansas combined state 

and local rate. 
$600,000 

 Use tax is due on out-of-
$400,000 state purchases whether the 

property is shipped into 
$200,000 Kansas or picked up in 

another state and brought 
$0 back to Kansas 
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K.S.A. 79-3221o. Individual tax returns; line for reporting compensating use 
tax. (a) In order to raise awareness of liabilities of use taxes levied in article 37 
of chapter 79 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, for 
purchases of tangible personal property made outside this state to be 
consumed within this state, and to increase compliance with such provisions of 
law, the director of taxation is hereby directed to include a line for the 
remittance of sales tax on out-of-state and internet purchases where the tax 
was not paid on individual tax returns for tax years beginning on or after July 1, 
2016. 

(b) The director shall include the following information in the income tax 
form instructions: 

(1) An explanation of an individual's obligation to pay use tax on items 
purchased from mail order, internet or other sellers that do not collect state 
and local sales and use taxes on the items; and 

(2) a method to help an individual determine the amount of use tax the 
individual owes. The method may include a table that gives the average 
amounts of use tax payable by taxpayers in various income ranges. 

(c) No penalties or interest shall be applied with respect to any taxes 
remitted pursuant to the provisions of this section. 

History: L. 2016, ch. 84, § 2; July 1. 
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Must be Kansas
Resident Entire Year

2020 
MAXIMUM “HOUSEHOLD INCOME” 

INDEXED TO INFLATION 

SAFESR 

$36,300 

Homestead 

$20,700 

You May claim either 
a Homestead or a 

SAFESR 

Not Both 

Homestead 
Last Changed in 2012 in HB 2117 

 55 or older the entire year or;  65 or older the entire year 
 Dependent under 18 the entire year or; 
 Totally & Permanently Disabled the entire year • 75% of property taxes paid 

• 100% of Social Security Income, SSI 
included in Household Income 

• 50% Social Security Income, SSI Excluded as Household • Property Taxes must be Paid Timely 
Income • Refund 75% of Property Taxes Paid 

• May File Claim if Property Taxes are Delinquent • Refund can be more than $700 
• Maximum Refund $700 

HOMESTEAD AND SAFESR DUE DATE FOR 2020 
7

APRIL 15, 2021 

K.S.A. 79-4508(d) In the case of all tax years commencing after December 31, 2004, the upper limit threshold 
amount prescribed in this section, shall be increased by an amount equal to such threshold amount multiplied by the 
cost-of-living adjustment determined under section 1(f)(3) of the federal internal revenue code for the calendar year in 
which the taxable year commences. 

* Household Income limit for TY 2016 - $34,100 
* Household Income limit for TY 2017 - $34,450 
* Household Income limit for TY 2018 - $35,000 
* Household Income limit for TY 2019 - $35,700 
* Household Income limit for TY 2020 - $36,300 

K.S.A. 79-4501 The title of this act shall be the homestead property tax refund act. The purpose of this act shall be to 
provide ad valorem tax refunds to: (a) Certain persons who are of qualifying age who own their homestead; (b) certain 
persons who have a disability, who own their homestead; and (c) certain persons other than persons included under 
the provisions of (a) or (b) who have low incomes and dependent children and own their homestead. 
K.S.A. 79-4505. Same; deadline for filing claim. Except as provided in K.S.A. 79-4517, and amendments thereto, no 
claim in respect of property taxes levied in any year shall be paid or allowed unless such claim is actually filed with 
and in the possession of the department of revenue on or before April 15 of the year next succeeding the year in 
which said taxes were levied. 

K.S.A. 79-32,263 Tax credit for property taxes paid by certain senior citizens; selective assistance for effective senior 
relief (SAFESR). This act shall be known and may be cited as the selective assistance for effective senior relief 
(SAFESR). There shall be allowed as a credit against the tax liability of a taxpayer imposed under the Kansas income 
tax act, the following: (a) For tax years 2008, 2009 and 2010, an amount equal to 45% of the amount of property and 
ad valorem taxes actually and timely paid as described in this section; and (b) for tax year 2011 and all tax years 
thereafter, an amount equal to 75% of the amount of property and ad valorem taxes actually and timely paid by a 
taxpayer who is 65 years of age or older and who has household income equal to or less than 120% of the federal 
poverty level for two persons if such taxes were paid upon real or personal property used for residential purposes of 
such taxpayer which is the taxpayer's principal place of residence for the tax year in which the tax credit is claimed. 
The amount of any such credit for any such taxpayer shall not exceed the amount of property and ad valorem taxes 
paid by such taxpayer as specified in this section. A taxpayer shall not take the credit pursuant to this section if such 
taxpayer has received a homestead property tax refund pursuant to K.S.A. 79-4501et seq., and amendments thereto, 
for such property for such tax year. Subject to the provisions of this section, if the amount of such tax credit exceeds 
the taxpayer's income tax liability for the taxable year, the amount of such excess credit which exceeds such tax 
liability shall be refunded to the taxpayer. The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and regulations regarding the 
filing of documents that support the amount of the credit claimed pursuant to this section. For purposes of this section, 
"household income" means all income as defined in K.S.A. 79-4502(a), and amendments thereto, including any 
payments received under the federal social security act, received by persons of a household in a calendar year while 
members of such household. The provisions of this act shall be part of and supplemental to the homestead property 
tax refund act. 
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Miscellaneous 
Interest rate — 4% (.333 monthly) for calendar year 2021 on 
delinquent or unpaid taxes and over payment of taxes. 

K.S.A 79-2968. Rate of interest on delinquent or unpaid taxes and overpayments of 
taxes. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, whenever interest is charged 
under any law of this state upon any delinquent or unpaid taxes levied or imposed by 
the state of Kansas or any taxing subdivision thereof, or whenever interest is allowed 
under any law of this state upon any overpayment of taxes levied or imposed by the 
state of Kansas or any taxing subdivision thereof, the rate thereof shall be the 
underpayment rate per annum prescribed and determined under paragraph (2) of 
subsection (a) of section 6621, without regard to subsection (c) thereof, of the federal 
internal revenue code, as in effect on September 1, 1996, and which rate is in effect 
thereunder on July 1 of the year immediately preceding the calendar year for which the 
rate is being annually fixed hereunder, plus one percentage point, if computed annually. 
Beginning on January 1, 2012, the rate for property tax delinquencies or underpayments 
of $10,000 or more shall be as provided for under this section or 10% per annum, 
whichever is greater. In the event the interest rate prescribed under this section cannot 
be determined by reference to section 6621 of the federal internal revenue code, as in 
effect on September 1, 1996, the rate at which interest shall be collected on 
underpayments shall be the rate prescribed by K.S.A. 16-204, and amendments 
thereto, for interest on judgments for the applicable period. History: L. 1980, ch. 308, § 
1; L. 1994, ch. 85, § 1; L. 1997, ch. 126, § 1; L. 2011, ch. 88, § 5; July 1. 
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NOTICE 20-01  

CHANGES TO  FILING  AND PAYMENT  DUE  DATES  FOR  
HOMESTEAD OR PROPERTY  TAX RELIEF  REFUND CLAIMS  

AND  
INDIVIDUAL,  FIDUCIARY AND CORPORATE  INCOME  TAX,  AND  

PRIVILEGE TAX  

(MARCH  23,  2020)  

Prompted by events surrounding the novel coronavirus-19, the Department of Revenue is 
providing the following guidance regarding changes to filing due dates. 

Homestead or Property Tax Relief Refund Claims 

Homestead or property tax relief  refund claims are due on April 15th. However, due  to 
current circumstances, the Director of Taxation has extended the deadline  for filing 2019 claims  
to October 15, 2020.  Those claiming a  refund are  encouraged to submit their claims  as soon as  
possible, and not to wait  until the end of the  extension period.  Only the  regular claim  form needs  
to be submitted; no special forms will be required.  

Filing and Payment Deadlines for the following Calendar Year Filers 
Individual Income Tax 
Fiduciary Income Tax 
Corporate Income Tax 

Privilege Tax 

The filing deadline for  calendar  year tax returns for  Individual  Income Tax, Fiduciary  Income  
Tax, Corporate Income Tax and Privilege Tax  is April 15th. However, due to current  
circumstances, the Director of Taxation  has extended  the deadline for filing  the 2019 tax  returns  
for  Individual  Income Tax, Fiduciary  Income Tax, Corporate  Income Tax and Privilege Tax  to 
conform to the  extended  due date of July 15, 2020, established by the Internal Revenue Service.  
Recognizing the extended filing deadline, the  payment due date has also been extended to July 15, 
2020.  This  means if the balance due is paid on or before July 15, 2020, no penalty and interest  
will be imposed.  Those  filing returns are encouraged to file as soon a s possible, and not  to wait 
until the end of any  extended period.  Only  regular return forms  need to be submitted; no special  
forms will be required.  
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Filing and Payment Deadlines for the following Fiscal Year Filers with 
Due Dates Prior to July 15, 2020 

Fiduciary Income Tax 
Corporate Income Tax 

Privilege Tax 

The  filing deadline for fiscal  year  filers for  Fiduciary I ncome Tax, Corporate  Income Tax  
and Privilege Tax  is the 15th  day of the  fourth month following the end of the  taxable year.   
However, due to current circumstances, the Director of Taxation has extended the deadline for  
filing  the 2019  tax returns for  Fiduciary I ncome  Tax, Corporate  Income  Tax and Privilege Tax 
returns  of fiscal filers with due dates between April 15, 2020 and July 15, 2020, to conform to the  
extended due date of July 15, 2020, established by  the  Internal Revenue Service. Recognizing the  
extended filing deadline, the payment  due date has also been  extended  to July 15, 2020.  This  
means if the balance due is paid on or before July  15, 2020, no penalty  and interest will be imposed. 
Those filing r eturns  are encouraged to file as soon as possible, and not  to wait until the end of any  
extended period.  Only regular  return forms  need to be submitted; no special forms will be required.  

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE 

Additional copies of this notice, forms or publications are available from our web site, 
www.ksrevenue.org. If  you have questions about  this Notice, please contact:  

Taxpayer Assistance Center  
Kansas Department of  Revenue  

kdor_tac@ks.gov  
Hearing Impaired  TTY: 785-296-6461  

Fax: 785-291-3614 
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NOTICE 20-02 

WAIVER OF  PENALTY AND INTEREST FOR  
ESTIMATED  TAX  PAYMENTS FOR  INDIVIDUAL  

AND CORPORATE  INCOME  TAXES  AND PRIVILEGE TAX  

(APRIL  2,  2020)  

Prompted by events surrounding the novel coronavirus-19, the Department of Revenue is 
providing the following notice regarding the waiver of penalty and interest for the first quarter 
2020 estimated tax payments due April 15, 2020: 

WAIVER OF PENALTY AND INTEREST 

Individual Income Tax, Corporate Income Tax, Privilege Tax 

The Director of Taxation will waive any applicable penalty and interest for taxpayers whose 
first-quarter 2020 estimated tax payments are made after April 15, 2020 but on or before July 15, 
2020. 

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE 

Additional copies of this notice, forms or publications are available from our web site, 
www.ksrevenue.org. If  you have questions about  this Notice, please contact:  

Taxpayer Assistance Center  
Kansas Department of Revenue  

kdor_tac@ks.gov  
Hearing Impaired  TTY: 785-296-6461  

Fax: 785-291-3614 

11 

mailto:kdor_tac@ks.gov
www.ksrevenue.org
www.ksrevenue.org



