Policy and Research 109 SW 9th Street PO Box 3506 Topeka KS 66601-3506



Phone: 785-296-3081 Fax: 785-296-7928 www.ksrevenue.gov

Mark A. Burghart, Secretary

General Fees and Procedures

Laura Kelly, Governor

Principle Office: Mills Building

109 SW 9th Street, PO Box 3506

Topeka KS 66601-3506

Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays

(except official state holidays)

Official Custodian: Sarah Fulton

Other Custodians:

Division Directors

Core Process Managers Vehicle Managers

Federal / State Coordinator

Access/Copy Fees:

Copies (per page)

Mail charge (first 5 pages)

\$0.25

(additional 5-page increments) \$0.40 Faxed copy \$0.65

Search charge (staff time per hour) \$25.00 Computer time (staff time per hour) \$60.00

Fees and Procedures

Written Request: The agency requires any request for access or copies to be in writing so as to adequately document the request, to clarify exactly what records are sought and to determine the requester's right to access. Such written request shall state the requester's name and address, information necessary to ascertain the records to which the requester desires access and the requester's right to access. (For public records which are not confidential or may not be discretionarily closed pursuant to K.S.A. 45-221 or other law, it will be sufficient to state "Kansas open records act, K.S.A. 45-215 *et seq.*," as the requester's right to access.) Identification of records sought must be as specific as possible. Requests will be honored for documents in existence at the time of the request. Documents may not be requested prospectively. Optionally, to aid in contacting the requester, a daytime telephone number should be provided.

Request Form: The Kansas Department of Revenue has developed the following record request form:

• PR - 50 Request for Copies or Access (General KDOR Records)

This form is available on the Kansas Department of Revenue Web site at www.ksrevenue.gov. It was designed to assist the requester in submitting all the necessary information so that the department can determine the requester's right to access. Written requests submitted to the department in other formats will not be denied; however, the department may need to gather additional information.

Many records maintained by the Kansas Department of Revenue are either confidential or restricted, and/or the Secretary of Revenue, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2022, has fixed the fees. Consequently, the Kansas Department of Revenue has developed specific request forms for the following record types:

Rev. 01/19

• TR/DL 302 Drivers License or Vehicle Title and Registration records,

• DO 41 Tax returns,

PVD 75 Property Valuation records, and
 D 64 Automobile Dealership records.

Copies of these request forms are also available on the Kansas Department of Revenue Web site at www.ksrevenue.gov.

Response Time: The agency will act on requests as soon as possible; however, if it appears it will take some time to provide records or notification of fees is required, a response will be provided within three business days of the request, estimating fees and providing further information regarding the agency's ability and plans to provide the requested records.

Fees: The 25-cent copy charge is a per page charge which is principally assessed to reimburse the agency for routine costs of retrieving records which are requested with specificity and are held within the agency's current file system. It does not include the cost of more than one-tenth of an hour of research or access time required to determine the location of records not readily accessible, to determine what specific records meet request criteria, to segregate public from non-public information, to access records from archives and other similar necessary services. For such services in providing access or copies, the \$25 per hour search charge may be assessed, to be billed by the tenth of an hour.

The mail charge may be assessed in addition to the copy charge when mail service is requested. For up to and including the first five pages, 40 cents may be charged, plus an additional 25 cents for up to and including each additional five pages.

The Fax charge of 65 cents per page includes those services required in copying a record, in addition to domestic fax transmission costs. No additional copy charge is assessed.

The computer time charge of \$60 per hour, also billed in tenths, is for staff time, including associated computer connect and processing time, for providing copies of records in available electronic format or for production of special computer-generated reports. The Official Custodian will be the sole judge of the ability of the agency to comply with any request for records in specific electronic format or the ability to produce any special computer-generated reports.

The agency will provide an estimate of fees to be charged as soon as possible after receiving the request. The agency reserves the right to require any estimated charge for access to or copies of records be received before work is performed to produce the records in order to insure payment. While the agency will do its best to provide an accurate estimate of the fees, it is possible that the records can be produced for less than the estimated amount. If so, any additional amounts will be refunded. However, it is also possible that after the work is started, the agency will discover that the estimate is too low. If this occurs, the agency will promptly inform the requestor of the revised estimate. The agency may require advanced payment of any additional cost before continuing work to fulfil the request.

Fees may be waived at the discretion of the Secretary of Revenue, Division Directors or the Official Records Custodian. Criteria for waiver include but are not limited to the size and clarity of the request, availability of records, difficulty and time required to access the records and whether the use or distribution of the records is determined by the Secretary of Revenue or custodians to significantly benefit the Kansas Department of Revenue or the general public.

Faxing Records & Air Express Delivery: Generally, records may be faxed if the request is for records that are not confidential or restricted, the record consists of fewer than 15 pages and are a standard page size, and fax time and facilities are readily available at the time. Whether and to what extent records will be faxed is at the sole discretion of the custodians. If air express delivery is requested, it shall be up to the requester to pay all fees for such delivery. Payment for this service must be made directly to the air express delivery service.

Published Records: The Kansas Department of Revenue has made several reports and publications available to the public on the Internet. The web address is: www.ksrevenue.gov.