Kansas Department of Revenue Driver's Education 300 SW 29th Street Topeka KS 66611



Phone: 785-296-4554 Fax: 877-401-6182 www.ksrevenue.gov

Mark A. Burghart, Secretary

Laura Kelly, Governor

## **Certification of Training for Driver Training School Instructors (Automobile)**

## Part A

<b>Applicant</b> (New Instructor) I certify that the information contained in this statement	nt is true, accurate, and	complete, and that:		
Applicant Name (PLEASE PRINT):		_		
Applicant' Signature:				
Applicant Signature.		<u> </u>		
I meet the instructor qualifications of having complete and 24 hours of behind the wheel training per K.S.A.		assroom instruction		
List Below Your Education and Training for a Driver Training Instructor's License (Use backside if needed).				
Name and Location of Training Provider	Date of Classroom Training	Date of Behind-The- Wheel Training		
	1			
Verification of Training				
Part I Authorized Official of the Driver Training School: I certify that the above-named applicant has completed instructor at a Driver Training School.	(current Certified Instr	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
I certify that I am presently licensed as an instructor by (1) or (a)(2), as amended, and has been continuously liperiod of at least three years. The training included stu Highway/Railroad Grade Crossing Program.	icensed and actively ins	tructed students for a		
Authorized Official's Name (PLEASE PRINT):				
Authorized Official's Signature:		Date:		

Name and Location of Training Provider	Date of Classroom Training	Date of Behind-The- Wheel Training

## **Kansas Statute**

**K.S.A. 8-276** Driver's training schools; qualifications for instructor of a school.

Every person in order to qualify as an instructor for a driving training school shall meet the following requirements:

- (a) Present to the Department evidence of:
  - (1) Credit in driver education and safety from an accredited college or university equivalent to credits in those subjects which are required of instructors in the public school of Kansas;
  - (2) Having a valid Kansas teacher's certificate coded for driver education, OR
  - (3) Having completed at least 30 hours of classroom and 24 hours of behind the wheel training under the direct supervision of an individual who is presently licensed as an instructor by the state board under paragraphs (1) and (2) and who has been continuously licensed and who has actively instructed students for a period of at least three years.
- (b) Have knowledge of the Kansas Operation Lifesaver Highway/Railroad Grade Crossing Safety Program.
- (c) Be physically able to operate safely a motor vehicle and to train others in the operation of motor vehicles.
- (d) Provide a certificate of health from a medical doctor stating that such person is free from contagious disease.
- (e) Hold a valid Kansas driver's license.
- (f) Pay to Kansas Department of Revenue and application fee of \$5.00.