Division of Vehicles 300 SW 29<sup>th</sup> Street PO Box 2505 Topeka KS 66601-2505

Mark A. Burghart, Secretary



Phone: 785-296-3601 www.ksrevenue.gov Laura Kelly, Governor

## **Driver's License/Registration Fees & Procedures**

Principle Office:	Zibell State Office Building 300 SW 29th Street PO Box 2505 Topeka KS 66601-2505	
Office Hours:	8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays (Titles and Registration) 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. weekdays (Driver Control) (except official state holidays)	
Official Custodian:	Sarah Fulton	
Other Custodians:	Director of Motor Vehicles Driver Control Manager Driver's Licensing Manager Motor Carriers Manager Title and Registration Manager	
<b>On-Line Record Fees:</b>	If you qualify to receive motor vehicle records, these records are available on-line through Kansas.gov. You can find out more about this service at: www.kansas.gov. The per record fees for obtaining records on-line are listed below:	
	<u>Kansas.gov:Interactive</u> Vehicle Registration, Motor Carrier registration, or Driver's License	\$6.50
	<u>Kansas.gov:Batch – (subject to minimum number of req</u> Vehicle Registration, Motor Carrier registration, or Driver's License	<u>uests)</u> \$6.00
Record Fees:	<u>Walk-In / Mail-In</u> Driver's License Record Vehicle Registration history Motor Carrier registration history Reprint of undelivered notices or records Certified Driver's License Record Clearance Letters Duplicate secured title/duplicate re-issuance Driver's License Folders Certified Driver's License Folders Vehicle Title History (microfilm review) Certified Vehicle Title (microfilm review) Vehicle Information for Dealers	\$10.00 \$10.00 \$10.00 \$15.00 \$15.00 \$20.00 \$20.00 \$25.00 \$25.00 \$30.00 \$1.00 per page
Programming Fees:	Some rates are set contractually pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2 Computer time (staff time per hour) Customized Report: Stats only (in addition to Computer Each Full/Partial Record Listed (in addition to Computer	\$60.00 time) \$6.00

## **Fees and Procedures**

**Written Request**: The agency requires requests for access or copies of Motor Vehicle Records to be in writing so as to adequately document the request, to clarify exactly what records are sought, and to determine the requester's right to access. Such written request shall state the requester's name and address, information necessary to ascertain the records to which the requester desires access, to identify what exception within the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994, as amended, gives the requester right to access, and to determine that names provided will not be used to sell or offer for sale any property or service. Identification of records sought, must be as specific as possible to aid in identifying the record sought. Requests will be honored for documents in existence at the time of the request. Documents may not be requested prospectively. Optionally, to aid in contacting the requester, a daytime telephone number should be provided.

**Request Forms**: Because Motor Vehicle Records are restricted by the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 as amended, the department has developed the following record request forms:

- TR/DL 301 3<sup>rd</sup> Party Consent
- TR/DL 302 Request for Copies (Driver License or Vehicle Title/Registration Records)

Copies of these forms are available on the Kansas Department of Revenue Web site at <u>www.ksrevenue.org</u>.

These forms are designed to assist the requester in submitting all the necessary information so that the department can determine the requester's right to access. Written requests submitted to the department in other formats will not be denied; however, the department may need to gather additional information.

**Response Time**: The agency will act on requests as soon as possible; however, if it appears it will take some time to provide records or notification of fees is required, a response will be provided within three business days of the request, estimating fees and providing further information regarding the agency's ability and plans to provide the requested records.

**Fees - Records**: The fees were set in accordance with K.S.A. 74-2022, which authorizes the Secretary of Revenue to "fix, charge and collect fees to provide access to or to furnish copies of data constituting public records in the vehicle information processing system (VIPS), the Kansas computer assisted mass appraisal system (KS CAMA) and other electronic database systems of the Department of Revenue. All such fees shall be fixed in order to recover all or part of the costs incurred to operate, maintain and improve the specific electronic database system in which the data are stored or maintained, including the costs incurred to provide access to or furnishing copies of such data. The fees fixed pursuant to this section shall not be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 45-219 and amendments thereto."

Furthermore, K.S.A. 74-2012(f) requires that "a fee in an amount fixed by the secretary of revenue pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2022, and amendments thereto, of not less than \$2.00 for each request for information in the public records of the division concerning any vehicle or licensed driver shall be charged by the division."

K.S.A. 74-2012(f) also allows the Secretary of Revenue to enter into a contract, which would provide motor vehicle records at a lesser fee, if the list and accompanying information from the Division of Motor Vehicle records/data bases will be used for the purpose of:

- Assisting manufacturers of motor vehicles in compiling statistical reports or in notifying owners of vehicles believed to: Have safety-related defects, fail to comply with emission standards; or have any defect to be remedied at the expense of the manufacturer;
- Assisting an insurer authorized to do business in this state, or the insurer's authorized agent: in processing an application for, or renewal or cancellation of, a motor vehicle liability insurance policy; or in conducting antifraud activities by identifying potential undisclosed drivers of a motor vehicle currently insured by an insurer licensed to do business in this state by providing

only the following information: drivers license number, license type, date of birth, name, address, issue date and expiration date;

- Assisting the selective service system in the maintenance of a list of persons 18 to 26 years of age in this state as required under the provisions of Section 3 of the federal military selective service act;
- Assisting any federal, state or local agency, including any court or law enforcement agency, or any private person acting on behalf of such agencies in carrying out the functions required of such governmental agency, except that such records shall not be re-disclosed;
- Assisting businesses with the verification or reporting of information derived from the title and registration records of the division to prepare and assemble vehicle history reports, except that such vehicle history reports shall not include the names or addresses of any current or previous owners;
- Assisting businesses in producing motor vehicle title or motor vehicle registration, or both, statistical reports, so long as personal information is not published, re-disclosed or used to contact individuals; OR
- Assisting an employer or an employer's authorized agent in monitoring the driving record of the employees required to drive in the course f employment to ensure driver behavior, performance or safety.

The per record fee for any vehicle or licensed driver record may not be waived, since K.S.A. 74-2012 mandates that the Secretary of Revenue fix and collect such fees. No refunds will be issued for requests made in error, or requests for records not on file.

**Fees – Programming:** The computer time charge of \$60 per hour, also billed in tenths, is for staff time, including associated computer connect and processing time, involved in the production of special computer-generated reports or to provide data in a specific electronic format. The computer time charge does not include the per record/report fee. There will be an additional fee for each motor vehicle record provided on the report, pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2012.

The agency will provide an estimate of fees to be charged as soon as possible after receiving the request. The agency reserves the right to require any estimated charge for access to or copies of records be received before work is performed to produce the records in order to insure payment. While the agency will do its best to provide an accurate estimate of the fees, it is possible that the records can be produced for less than the estimated amount. If so, any additional amounts will be refunded. However, it is also possible that after the work is started, the agency will discover that the estimate is too low. If this occurs, the agency will promptly inform the requestor of the revised estimate. The agency may require advanced payment of any additional cost before continuing work to fulfil the request. No refunds will be issued for programming requests made in error, or requests resulting in no records found.

The Official Custodian will be the sole judge of the ability of the agency to comply with any request for records in specific electronic format or the ability to produce any special computer-generated reports.

**Faxing Records & Air Express Delivery**: Generally, records may be faxed if the request is for records that are not confidential or restricted, the record consists of fewer than 15 pages and are a standard page size, and fax time and facilities are readily available at the time. Motor Vehicle records are restricted records and as a general rule will not be faxed. However, whether and to what extent records will be faxed is at the sole discretion of the custodians. If air express delivery is requested, it shall be up to the requester to pay all fees for such delivery. Payment for this service must be made directly to the air express delivery service.

**Internet Access**: The Kansas Department of Revenue has partnered with Kansas.gov to provide access to motor vehicle records electronically. To find out more about this service visit Kansas.gov home page at: www.kansas.gov.