# APPLICATION FOR REFUND OF KANSAS COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE FLEET REGISTRATION

This form is used to apply for refund of the balance of Kansas registration fees and/or the cancelation of any remaining CMV fleet quarterly payment installments for the following described apportioned vehicle(s) as provided in K.S.A. 8-1,116(c).

\*BASIS FOR REFUND AND/OR CANCELLATION: Motor Vehicle has been SOLD, REPOSSESSED, JUNKED FORECLOSED BY MECHANIC'S LIEN, OPERATION OF LAW, OWNER DECEASED.

Mail to:				
Kansas Department of	Revenue	Account Number	SSN or FEIN	
Division of Vehicles		recount rumber	SSI VI I III V	
300 SW 29th St.				
PO Box 12003	02		USDOT Number	
Topeka, KS 66601-200	03			
Phone: 785-296-6541				
NAME			See the reverse side of this form for	
			required documents to be filed with	
MAILING ADDRESS			_this application, and prerequisites to obtaining a refund or cancellation	
CITY AND STATE ZIP			under CMV fleet registration.	
CITY AND STATE	TTY AND STATE ZIP		_	
20	VEHICLE	Enter the basis for refund from the Basis	Enter Dispostion of Plate	
PLATE	IDENTIFICATION	for Cancellation listed above	1. Office where plate was returned	
NO.	NUMBER		2. plate was destroyed or recycled	
	The undersigned under oath swears and	affirms that the above information is true a	and correct.	
	X			
	OWNERS SIGNATURE OR AUTHORIZED	O REPRESENTATIVE	TITLE	
		_		
	Date			
OFFICE USE ONLY (C	ircle Applicable items)			
·				
Yes No	All Plate(s) Returned	DATE RECEIVED:		
Yes No Yes No	Copy of Bill of Sale attached Do Refund	Abate Quarter: 2nd 3rd 4th		
Yes No	Do Denial Letter	(Circle all applicable)		
		,		

#### INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

Complete this application and return with the Cab Card(s) and the License Plate(s), copy of the bill of sale document(s) and any other supporting documents outlined in these instructions, to the address shown on the reverse side.

To qualify for a refund and/or cancellation of fees the motor vehicle(s) must have been sold (this includes sold vehicles leased to your apportioned registration account), junked, repossessed, foreclosed by mechanic's lien, title transferred by operation of law or the owner is deceased. The cancellation or expiration of a lease agreement, the removal of a motor vehicle from service or from the state of Kansas is not a basis for refund. Any apportioned fees remaining due and payable shall be paid before consideration shall be given to a refund application. Also, the amount of refund must exceed \$50.00 per vehicle before a refund check may be issued. The refundable unused registration fees are provided to the registrant of the IRP account. Refunds less than \$50.00 will be applied as credit on the registrant's IRP account and will be available only for the annual registration interval the refund was applied.

Kansas will refund only the applicable unused registration fees paid to Kansas. You must contact each jurisdiction listed on your cab card to determine if they allow refunding of fees sent to them. The amount of refund is determined from the next Kansas fee reduction date after receipt of a completed refund application (including the Cab Card, the License Plate and any required supporting documents). The Kansas fee is multiplied by the current Kansas mileage percentage.

If payment of the annual Kansas Proportional Fleet Registration fee is on a quarterly payment basis, a refund application must be filed to stop the accrual of any quarterly payment(s). The fleet owner shall pay any delinquent quarterly installment(s), including penalty, to stop the accrual of any fleet quarterly installment(s) if delinquent at the time refund application is made.

# A REFUND REQUEST MAY BE MADE FOR ONE OF THE FOLLOWING REASONS:

#### SOLD

The vehicle has been sold outright without trade or replacement. If a vehicle is junked (wrecked beyond repair) or is sold to an insurance company you must provide the Motor Carrier Services Bureau with a signed notarized affidavit which indicates the selling of the vehicle, giving the name and address of the licensed salvage dealer or licensed scrap processor for the purpose of recycling, showing the date such vehicle was junked. KSA 8-1,136 effective July 1, 1991.

### REPOSSESSED

If a vehicle was repossessed and is not being replaced, a notarized repossession affidavit stating the date of repossession, description of vehicle by year, make and identification number shall accompany the refund application.

#### **FORECLOSED**

If a vehicle was foreclosed by a mechanic's lien, and is not being replaced, provide a sworn statement (signed, dated and notarized) stating date of foreclosure, name of garage, a description of the vehicle foreclosed, by year, make and identification number, and the amount of the mechanic's lien owed.

## **TRANSFERRED**

If the ownership of a vehicle was transferred by court order, a **BY LAW** certified copy of the court order shall be provided.

### **DECEASED**

If the owner has died and the estate is being probated, Letters of Testamentary shall be provided. Please allow at least sixty (60) days for processing and issuance of the refund warrant if applicable.

CMV-105www KS IRP Refund Instructions (Rev. 6/13)