STATE OF KANSAS

SECRETARY OF REVENUE 109 SW 9th Street PO Box 3506 Topeka KS 66601-3506



GOVERNOR JEFF COLYER, M.D. SAMUEL M. WILLIAMS, SECRETARY DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE PHONE: 785-296-2435 FAX: 785-291-3426 www.ksrevenue.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 17, 2018

Contact: Rachel Whitten (785) 296-0671 Rachel.whitten@ks.gov

ABC unveils streamlined alcoholic beverage label registration

TOPEKA—Kansas alcohol manufacturers and out of state suppliers will soon have a more efficient way to register beverage brands and renew liquor permits, the Kansas Alcoholic Beverage Control announced Monday.

The system improvements, which go live October 1, will allow wineries, microdistilleries, microbreweries, and manufacturers to renew their license or permit and their brand labels in the same web interface. Previously, brand registration required a separate transaction on a different system for each beverage label a manufacturer produced.

"We are so pleased to offer a more intuitive way for alcohol beverage manufacturers to do business with the State of Kansas," Alcoholic Beverage Control Director Debbi Beavers said. "This is a substantial improvement that will require less time and money from the manufacturers."

The enhancements feature a cart where manufacturers can register multiple labels at once under a single, streamlined checkout process.

The improvements will also feature a newly reduced convenience fee structure that will be a cost saving to businesses. While the \$25 per label fee is required by law to remain in place, the system enhancement will eliminate the label processing fee. Instead, manufacturers will pay a 2.5 percent credit card processing fee, or a \$1.50 bank draft fee.

Kansas has 107 in-state alcoholic beverage manufactures and 1,136 out of state suppliers that register a approximately 52,000 labels with the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control every year.

For questions, call 785-296-7015.